Thou Art All I Want

Thou Art All I Want

I was greatly looking forward to slipping into bed last night but despite being rather worn out, I could not sleep. I grabbed a book and planned to read until my eyes grew heavy with exhaust. But God had other plans.

As I sat casually reading, I stumbled across a statement that shook me to the core of my being. God stopped me dead in my tracks and I could go no further. It was a short and powerfully potent little pronouncement by Charles Wesley.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

The declaration of this God-sourced man continued to press upon my heart and mind.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

I knew that such a statement was to be the anthem of every man and woman of God that ever walked this earth.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

I knew that in history past such a singleness of desire had been the driving force of every great man of prayer and intercession.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

I knew that there had never been a revival, personally or corporately, that was not birthed out of such a all-consuming yearning.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

Yet, I was having trouble boldly proclaiming such a statement myself. It was disturbing. The Spirit of God was shining the light of His holiness upon my heart and searching me. He was revealing all of my deep and hidden desires that were not of Him nor for Him. He was exposing selfish longings that I did not even know existed within my soul. He was showing me that a singleness of desire for Him was not the anthem, driving force, or all consuming passion of my life. And while I highly esteemed such a statement as Wesley’s, I could not in all honesty say it for myself.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

I was reminded of the Apostle Peter. Toward the later years of his life, he was rarely found with dry eyes. He would often cry when he heard a rooster crow (remembering his denial of Christ). But many days he was found weeping for what seemed to be no reason at all. One day, a young Christian, questioned him about this.

“Peter, why do you so often weep?” he cautiously inquired.

Peter turned to the young man, and with eyes burning with an intense yearning, he replied softly, “Desiderio Domini.”

That is Latin for “I dearly long to be with my Lord.”

Peter  wept and wept and wept out of a deep, all-consuming desire to be with his King. He could truly say, “Thou, O Christ, art all I want.” He was free from the desires of the flesh and the world. He yearned for one thing, and one thing alone. Christ. And his desire was so great that it drove him to uncontrollable weeping constantly.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

Please forgive my constant repetition, but I just can’t get over the amazing nature of such a proclamation.

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

In all truthfulness, from the innermost-being of your heart, can you say it, friend?

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

Is such a desire what drives you every moment of every day?

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

Is this the ceaseless anthem of your existence?

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

Oh, to be able to shout such a proclamation to the heavenlies! Oh, to in the deepest depths of my heart be able to say that Christ, the spotless Priest and King, is ALL, absolutely ALL, that I want! Oh, that to live would be Christ and to die would be gain! Oh, to, by the Spirit of God, mortify all the fleshly desires still deeply implanted within my heart! To no longer desire the applause and approval of men; to no longer desire comfort and ease in Zion; to no longer desire worldly pleasures and fame; to no longer desire anything of self or this sin-ridden world! Oh, to desire NOTHING but Christ, and Him crucified!

“Thou, O Christ, art all I want.”

This must be the single, all-consuming desire of my life. This must be the single, all-consuming desire of every Christian. Desiderio Domini

NJThompson is the author of this posting. I found it very close to the heart of God and wanted to share it today.

Leave a Reply

